Click to toggle navigation menu.


More Than 330 State Legislators from 46 States Sign Letter Opposing Kavanaugh

339 state legislators from 46 states have signed onto an open letter opposing the nomination of Jude Brett Kavanaugh to the U.S. Supreme Court.

“These state legislators are standing with the millions of Americans who believe enough is enough. Brett Kavanaugh’s judicial philosophy, the credible allegations against him, and his combative, partisan attacks make him unfit to serve on the Supreme Court,” said Kelly Baden, SiX Director of Reproductive Rights. “It’s long past time for Brett Kavanaugh to withdraw his nomination. The credible allegations against him are disqualifying. His record on abortion rights, health care, presidential power, and many other important issues is disqualifying. His behavior during last week’s hearing is disqualifying. If he refuses to withdraw, the Senate must vote him down. There is no other option.”

The letter, also excerpted below, can be read in full here

“It’s not enough to oppose a Supreme Court nominee who could gut the right to abortion at the federal level; we must exercise leadership as state legislators to do our critical part in creating a world where people can exercise reproductive freedom,” reads the letter. “We pledge to use our platforms as state legislators to advance the reproductive health care needs of the people we serve and to work with our communities to improve our state policies to protect and advance abortion rights and access.”

The letter was coordinated by the Reproductive Freedom Leadership Council (RFLC), a first-of-its-kind national network of over 300 state legislators from across the country committed to embracing leadership on reproductive rights including access to abortion care. The RFLC’s vision and values platform can be found here.

Should Roe v. Wade be overturned or eroded, policies determined by state legislatures will determine where and when women have access to abortion care. Currently, just nine states have a law guaranteeing access to abortion: California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Nevada, Oregon and Washington.